Social Commentary

The Search for Freshwater

This is my spanking new theory, and I am quite proud of it, so hopefully it will grant you with some kind of enlightenment.

Just the other day, I was thinking about how I am all alone, even though there are hundreds and hundreds of boys around me (okay fine, I am Indian which considerably reduces the pool in Singapore) It is so odd that there are so many boys, yet I still remain alone and very much single.

And then it hit me.

Its like we are stranded in the middle of the ocean. There is so much water surrounding us, but none of it is drinkable! Its horrible, cause its not even like there is no water at all, there is water, just none for us. And if we cave in and drink the saltwater, it does nothing to quench our thirst; it only makes it worse! There are boys everywhere but none of them are for us!!!

To make things worse, when we finally leave school and go out into the real world, we somehow end up in the middle of the desert. We get more and more desperate for water, and sometimes we think we have found it, that our problems are finally over, but it turns out to be a mirage.

In the end, we all die from thirst, because we never find the freshwater that we are looking for.

Disclaimer: This is largely an attempt to make myself, and my friends, feel better about being alone. It is highly possible that I am a freshwater fish who just got put into the ocean thoughtlessly and while everyone around me is happy and comfortable, I am dying alone. Or maybe its just that nobody wants me. I realise the more I go on, the more sad and bitter I sound. Oh well.

Water, water everywhere
Nor any drop to drink!
― Samuel Taylor Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Leave a Reply

