Travel

Wanderlust

London, England

I’ve always hated the word wanderlust. The idea of stupid hipsters who get the word tattooed on themselves going on and on about how much they suffer from wanderlust and how they need to travel to understand their existence.

Oh my god, this word means SO much to me!! I should get it tattooed on myself in ugly font representing my lack of rootedness to my home and my desire to trek the jungles of Borneo getting soaked in sweat and bitten by insect bites because you know, because I suffer from wanderlust, all of these uncomfortable conditions are immaterial because I know the greater meaning in life and exploring the world beyond these mere mortal habits and desires!

But my personal vendetta against hipsters aside, I don’t think there is any other word that seems to encapsulate how everyone (or at least everyone around me) seems to feel. (More words need to be invented, hipsters are ruining freaking EVERYTHING around me). Being trapped here for at least another one and a half years has made everyone hunger to explore the world. I know that I, especially, dream of traveling. I’m not going to claim that visiting rural villages with poor sanitation and bad weather is exactly at the top of my list, but all the time spent on the National Geographic Traveler website (most of it during econs tutorials) scrolling through pictures of pretty places around the world has definitely led me to want, more than ever, to visit all of the places that I only get to see through a computer screen. But you know, one step at a time. Despite the seemingly infinite amount of places that I would like to visit, I know I’m lucky to be able to travel almost every year and visit new places around the world, and I’m sure that all of my friends feel the same way. So with that, along with sharing pictures from places that I would most like to visit around the world, I introduce to you our travel column!

St Petersburg, Russia

Amalfi Coast, Italy

Petra, Jordan

Dresden, Germany

Athens, Greece

Anyway, presenting to you our travel column! As lucky as we are to be given the opportunity to travel, we treasure it and will henceforth maximise it by sharing our experiences as we venture abroad to exotic (most likely not-so-exotic) places in the hopes that you, our lovely readers, will be overcome by jealousy! Okay, no. But in all seriousness, I hope that our travel column will not only entertain and excite you, but also fuel your desire to travel and explore the beautiful world! Just don’t get wanderlust tattooed on yourself. Please, don’t.

Leave a Reply

